new-years-choirHonoring the past while looking forward to the year ahead…

Welcome, and Happy Holidays!  We’re happy to announce the release of our new 5 song EP titled “New Years”!

Recorded in our home studio,  Colleen and Steve Murphy are joined by fellow bandmates Melissa Parrott (drums, flute, harmonica, vocals), Steve Presant (bass, vocals) and a choir of fellow London musicians: Taylor Holden; Martin Horak and Amanda Lynn Stubley (from The Heartaches String Band) and; Bill Needham (from Broomsticks & Hammers) for a heartwarming rendition of Guy Lombardo’s “Auld Lang Syne”.  The song leads off a 5 song, holiday themed EP.

The idea has been in the works for a while but, even we were surprised how well the recording process went. Colleen adds “this year has been a bit rough for a lot of us. We lost a great number of musical heroes, including Leonard Cohen just prior to this recording.”

Filling out the EP are 3 original tunes: New Years (a song written just after Jan 1 2016. It laments the sometimes overly optimistic ideas of New Years parties and resolutions); Winter Outside (a short, lovely tune describing the general malaise of a Canadian winter evening); a drastic reconstruction of our song Dear Honoured Listener, originally from the album of the same name, and finally, another cover song, our version of “We’re a Couple of Misfits” from the classic clay-mation Rudolph the red-nosed reindeer holiday special, written by Johnny Marks.

The 5 songs showcase Westminster Park’s chamber/folk sensibilities, focusing on acoustic instruments like guitar, cello, piano, flute, glockenspiel, concertina and harmonica.

We’re hoping people will choose to listen to these songs to ring in the new year but hey, if you want to call it early and celebrate the end of 2016 now, we’re on board for that as well!

Released on our own Snap Crackle Pops Records label, a portion of each sale is being donated to charity and the EP will be available digitally (bandcamp link below) and in Limited Edition CD and ,12-inch lathe-cut formats on November 25 2016 at Grooves Records.